« 2016 Preservation Virginia Legislative Reception | Main | 2015 Annual PAPA Event »

2015 Annual Meeting

Community members from the greater Charlottesville area joined for Preservation Piedmont's 2015 Annual Meeting on December 6 at The Bridge Progressive Arts Initiative. The meeting helped to kick off the City of Charlottesville's Belmont Historic Survey of 250 buildings, and included a short presentation about the upcoming survey in Belmont.

The annual awards for outstanding historic preservation projects and work in our community were as follows:

  • Preservation Award to the Pleasant Grove House Museum, a public-private partnership of the Fluvanna County Board of Supervisors and the Fluvanna Historical Society, accepted by Marvin Moss, Former Fluvanna Supervisor, and Judy Mickelson of the Fluvanna County Historical Society.
  • Preservation Award to Riverbend Development, accepted by Joseph Simpson, for the restoration of the Coca-Cola Bottling Works.
  • Martha Gleason Award to the Southern Environmental Law Center, accepted by Travis Pietela, in honor of their 30th anniversary and their preservation efforts in our community.
The following resolutions were adopted:
  • Resolutions recognizing and thanking Satyendra Huja and Dede Smith for their preservation efforts while serving on the Charlottesville City Council. 
  • A resolution in honor and memory of Clarence McClymonds, who was Preservation Piedmont’s first treasurer and a long-time active member, presented by Jean Hiatt and accepted by his wife Marita McClymonds and his daughter, Julie McClymonds-Smith.